About

WCT
World Class Tests were conceived by the Department for Education in London, UK. They cover Mathematics and Problem Solving and are designed to provide a challenging and fun assessment for the most able 8-14 year-old students.

World Class Tests help to identify and challenge able students, requiring them to apply their awareness to solve unfamiliar problems. Students are expected to communicate and explain their solutions.

Students taking World Class Tests should be able to:

  • think creatively and logically
  • use their thinking skills to solve problems and answer questions that are unfamiliar
  • communicate clearly how they think through and solve questions
Teachers should encourage students who may not perform well in traditional tests, but who are creative thinkers and good problem solvers, to take the World Class Tests.

Each test has a paper component and a computer component. Students must take both. 8-11 year-old students have 60 minutes for each component. 12-14 year-old have 75 minutes.

For Teachers
Professor M.Y. Wong
School of Mathematics Professor at the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

“By hosting WCT, we have unleashed students’ potentials in mathematics and they have attained a better grasp of the concepts behind. However, students also need to improve on how they express themselves. This is a key element for every student’s growth and learning.”
Principal Y.N. Au
Ho Lap Secondary School

“It’s not really important if a student receives awards or not in WCT. What matters most is the process of test taking. Stimulating an interest for students in mathematics and logical thinking is already a massive step forward for their academic paths.”
Professor T.K. Ng
Executive Director of The Hong Kong Academy for Gifted Education

“If students showing potential do not continue to further enhance their abilities, they may gradually lose their touch. Through WCT, students will have more opportunities to further cultivate and nurture their higher thinking abilities. Students should grasp on to every opportunity that arises and rise to the occasion.”

For Students
Unlike banal tests, WCT is an enjoyable series of interactive and intellectually stimulating tests. Through our new way of assessment , you can prove your ability in observation, comprehension and organisation.
Lai Wai Lok
“WCT has helped me to understand my mathematical and problem solving abilities. In the long run, I can better tackle questions in other exams as well.”
Dorothy Cheng Wai Chung
Student of The Diocesan Girls School of Hong Kong
“I remember a WCT question that asks students to resolve an issue with a limited set of household tools. WCT doesn’t limit to mathematical knowledge but also high level of intuition and flexibility in thinking. You really have to think outside the box. I believe that involving problem solving skill as a part of the learning experience is very helpful and can reap rewards in the long run. Problem solving is an attribute that can assist us in all aspects of life.”
Chui Tin Chau
“WCT questions are unique. Unlike mathematics in class, this test has truly tested my ability in higher order thinking and analytical skills. Certain real- life scenarios related to daily life were even incorporated in the test; definitely a test worth taking.”
Victor Lin Shao-yuan
“You can't just memorise a bunch of formulas, because there are no fixed formats or patterns to the questions.”
Wong Tsz Yan
“WCT is interesting and challenging. It’s different from the mathematical tests in mainland China which require a great deal of memorization of formulas and procedures.”
Kung Wai Koon
University of Hong Kong

“I remember one of the computer based questions of the tests simulated the growth of a plant. The question asked us to figure out how to grow the tallest plant. This form of questioning was something I have never been exposed to, and it has inspired me to learn.”

關於我們

世界數學及解難評估
「世界數學及解難評估」是在倫敦的英國教育部所構思出來的,這評估涵蓋了數學和解難分析兩個範疇,旨在為思考靈活的8-14歲學生提供具有挑戰性和趣味性的評估。「世界數學及解難評估」有助於識別和挑戰有能力的學生,要求他們運用自己的思維來解決不熟悉的問題,過程中需要學生表達和解釋他們解決難題的方案。

 加「世界數學及解難評估」的學生應該能夠:

  • 表現創意思維和邏輯性思考
  • 利用他們的思維能力解決陌生的難題
  • 清楚地表達他們如何思考和解決問題

教師可鼓勵那些在傳統考試中表現不理想,但有創意思維和喜歡挑戰難題的學生參加「世界數學及解難評估」。

數學科和解難分析科各自都有筆試和電腦試各一份,考生必須完成一科中的兩份試卷,8-11歲組別的試卷每份的時限為60分鐘,而12-14歲組別的試卷則每份為75分鐘。

教育界分享 
黃敏瑜教授
香港科技大學數學系
 
「『世界數學及解難評估』激發學生的數理潛能,讓學生有清晰的思維,使其更能融會貫通問題背後的整體理念,但要加強表達能力的訓練,這對學生的學習和成長非常重要。」
歐潤南助理校長
可立中學

「學生能否獲獎不是最重要,而是在過程中,令他們的邏輯思維及對數字的興趣都有大躍進。」
吳大琪教授
前香港資優教育學苑院長

「有能力的學生如果不繼續磨練,就會慢慢退步。透過『世界數學及解難評估』,學生有更多機會培養高階思維能力,挑戰自我。學生應該多參與此類活動,提升自己。」

學生參與
與坊間其他測試不同,「世界數學及解難評估」是一個互動及啟發性兼備的數學解難挑戰。「世界數學及解難評估」的 多元化題型 ,能引發你展現出你過人的分析、評估、創造等高階思維能力。

賴煒諾同學
「『世界數學及解難評估』幫助我了解自己在處理數字和分析方面表現較好,和掌握了撰寫讓人一目了然的答案的技巧。」
鄭慧中同學
「記得『世界數學及解難評估』有道題目是用有限的家具來解決家裏一件突如其來的意外,讓我了解到解難不只在數學,也與生活息息相關……解難能力對學業與生活皆有用處,例如如何解決學習困難、如何在生活中做抉擇,都需要用到解難能力。」
徐天就同學
「『世界數學及解難評估』的題型獨特,與平常數學課的截然不同,考驗我的高階思維及洞察力。部分問題與日常生活有關,十分值得嘗試!」
林劭謜同學
「『世界數學及解難評估』的題目沒有固定的格式,你不能單靠背誦公式來應付。」
王芷茵同學
「『世界數學及解難評估』趣味性高,很有挑戰性,與國內測試不同。一般國內測驗較沉悶,並要背公式。」
龔偉冠同學
「記得有道題目是需要在電腦上模擬種植植物,要找出長出最高的植物的方法。這種題目是前所未見的,這經歷亦啟發了我的學習方式。」